go to content go to search box go to global site navigation

Flights

Flights to Jordan

The best price found from United States to Jordan is on December 10th, 2018, travelling with jetBlue. See more options, compare prices and book: search flights.

IAD
Washington Dulles
from $399.00
AMM
Amman Queen Alia

Getting around by air

Departure Tax

Jordan’s departure tax for travellers is JD8 by land and sea, and JD15 by air. If you are leaving by air, the departure tax is generally included in the ticket price.

Airports & Airlines

Queen Alia International Airport, about 35km south of Amman, is the country’s main gateway. Recently subject to an impressive refurbishment, it has ATMs, foreign exchange counters, a post office and left-luggage counter. The departure lounge has several cafes and a good range of duty-free gift items, including Arabic sweets and some souvenirs. Car-rental agencies are located in the arrivals building.

The only other international airport is at Aqaba, where some international carriers stop en route to Amman. Flights to Sharm El Sheikh in Egypt are handled from here. Charter flights from Europe tend to come and go depending on regional stability, but at the time of writing a new low-cost carrier was about to be announced, operating out of Aqaba.

The national airline, Royal Jordanian (www.rj.com), is well established with a good safety record. It has direct flights to most major cities in Europe and all Middle Eastern capitals, and runs short flights from Amman to Aqaba (twice daily). Royal Wings (www.royalwings.com.jo), a subsidiary of Royal Jordanian, has smaller planes and runs expensive charter flights.

A number of airlines fly to Jordan:

Air Arabia (www.airarabia.com)

Air France (www.airfrance.com)

British Airways (www.ba.com)

Emirates (www.emirates.com)

Fly Dubai (www.flydubai.com)

Gulf Air (www.gulfair.com)

Iraqi Airways (www.ia.com.iq)

KLM (www.klm.com)

Kuwait Airways (www.kuwaitairways.com)

Lufthansa Airlines (www.lufthansa.com)

Qatar Airways (www.qatarairways.com)

Saudi Arabian Airlines (www.saudia.com)

Turkish Airlines (www.turkishairlines.com)