White Hall

Port of Spain

Clad in white limestone imported from Barbados, this imposing structure dates from 1907 and has undergone a complete interior and exterior restoration, which finished in late 2019 and saw it returned to its former use as the office of Trinidad's prime minister. It's closed to the public, but you can admire the intricate ironwork balconies and turreted facade from the road.

Lonely Planet's must-see attractions

Nearby Port of Spain attractions

1. Archbishop's Residence

0.04 MILES

Unlike some Magnificent Seven buildings, the home of the Roman Catholic Archbishop has been meticulously maintained, and features rows of arched windows…

2. Stollmeyer's Castle

0.04 MILES

With its battlemented turrets, this fabulous Scottish Baronial pile really does have the feel of a castle. Loosely modeled on the British Queen's home at…

3. Roomor

0.08 MILES

Boasting intricate gingerbread fretwork and coiling iron railings, Roomor is one of the prettiest of the Magnificent Seven houses, and is still a private…

4. Mille Fleurs


Shrouded behind fencing and covered by a protective temporary roof, intricate Mille Fleurs sports beautiful decorative ironwork, but is one of the most…

5. Hayes Court

0.14 MILES

Built as the residence of Trinidad's Anglican bishop (but now in private hands), this French Colonial–style building features intricate stonework and a…

6. Queen's Royal College

0.16 MILES

Resplendent with red and gray brickwork, and topped with a looming central clock-tower, QRC is home to one of Trinidad's most prestigious boys schools.

7. Emperor Valley Zoo

0.25 MILES

Port of Spain's 2.5-hectare zoo has a host of indigenous species – red howler monkeys, ocelots, caiman and various birds, snakes and tropical fish – there…

8. Botanical Gardens

0.39 MILES

Resplendent with exotic trees and plants, and networked by paved paths, the Botanical Gardens date from 1818. Take a stroll or relax in one of the…