Indian one-horned rhinoceros (rhino), Rhinoceros unicornis, with calf, Kaziranga National Park, Assam, India, Asia

Getty Images/Robert Harding World Imagery

Northeast States

Sometimes the Seven Sisters of the Northeast (the states of Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland and Tripura) hardly seem like India at all. The region's hundreds of tribes and subtribes are slowly ceding to modernity, but remain extremely diverse. Nagaland's former headhunters now go to church on Sundays. Many Arunachalis also attend church-like buildings on Sundays – to worship the sun and moon. Cloudy Himalayan valleys near the border of Tibet are dotted with colorful monasteries, echoing with Buddhist chants and clashing cymbals.


Must-see attractions

Plan with a local


Latest stories from Northeast States

Filter by interest:


Highlights of the Seven Sisters: why Northeast India is the place to travel right now

Oct 10, 2019 • 9 min read


Purchase our award-winning guidebooks

Get to the heart of Northeast States with one of our in-depth, award-winning guidebooks, covering maps, itineraries, and expert guidance.

Go Beyond

Northeast States and beyond