go to content go to search box go to global site navigation


Getting around by air

All of Spain’s airports share the user-friendly website and flight information telephone number of Aena, the Spanish national airport authority.

Airports & Airlines

All seven major Canary Islands have airports. Tenerife, Gran Canaria, Lanzarote, Fuerteventura and, increasingly, La Palma absorb nearly all the direct international flights and those from mainland Spain, while the others are principally for inter-island hops.

The following main airports handle international flights:

Aeropuerto Tenerife Norte, Los Rodeos Handles just about all inter-island flights and most of those to the Spanish mainland.

Aeropuerto Tenerife Sur, Reina Sofía Handles the remaining scheduled flights, and virtually all charter flights to the island.

Aeropuerto de Gran Canaria Located 16km south of Las Palmas.

Aeropuerto César Manrique–Lanzarote Located 6km southwest of the capital, Arrecife.

Aeropuerto de Fuerteventura Located 6km south of the capital, Puerto del Rosario.

Dozens of airlines, many of which you’ll never have heard of, fly into the Canary Islands. There are direct flights to cities in Morocco, Senegal, Venezuela, Israel, Madeira and many other destinations, however, there are no non-stop flights from North America to the archipelago. Increasingly, there are flights into La Palma Airport, including flights from Gatwick (Easyjet) and Manchester (Tui Airways) in the UK.

Departure Tax

There is no departure tax in the Canary Islands at present. However, a sustainable tourism tax, similar to the tax levied on visitors to the Balearic Islands, was being considered at the time of writing to help finance environmental protection efforts and manage visitor numbers.