This excellent museum is in the 1894 School of Mines building and is one of the best regional mining museums in the nation. The ground floor features a world-class mineral display, including samples of bright-orange crocoite, Tasmania’s official mineral emblem and only found in this area. Upstairs there’s a fascinating photographic history of the west coast.

To one side of the museum is an exhibit of steam locomotives and carriages from the early west-coast railways.