A stone bridge over Bybrook River in Castle Combe.

©joe daniel price/Getty Images

The Cotswolds

Undulating gracefully across six counties, the Cotswolds region is a delightful tangle of golden villages, thatched cottages, evocative churches and honey-coloured mansions. In 1966 it was designated an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, surpassed for size in England by the Lake District alone.

Start planning your trip


Must-see attractions for your itinerary


Latest stories from The Cotswolds

Filter by interest:


I lost my job, so I walked 100 miles through the most beautiful English countryside

Jun 30, 2023 • 6 min read


Purchase our award-winning guidebooks

Get to the heart of The Cotswolds with one of our in-depth, award-winning guidebooks, covering maps, itineraries, and expert guidance.