Founded in 1618, Moni Gonias was damaged by the Turks in 1645, but rebuilt in 1662 and extended in the 19th century. The monastery houses a unique collection of icons dating from the 17th and 18th centuries. Some are in the church while others are in the monastery’s two-room museum. The most valuable icon is that of Agios Nikolaos, painted in 1637 by Palaiokapas (in the museum). It perfectly exemplifies the Cretan school of icon painting that flourished in the 17th century.
The monastery, which also incorporates Crete’s Theological College, is easy to reach from Kolymbari. Take the beach road north from the town centre for about 500m.