With its red-brick facade broken up by horizontal window bands, the former Jewish Girls' School is a prime example of 1920s New Objectivity architecture. Forcibly closed by the Nazis in 1942, it again served as a school until 1996 before being rebooted as a cultural and culinary hub in 2012. Plenty of original design features have survived, including classroom lights and the richly tiled hallways leading to two restaurants and three art spaces.
Its Jewish architect, Alexander Beer, perished at Theresienstadt concentration camp.
