go to content go to search box go to global site navigation

Getting Around

Myrapid & Touch 'N Go Cards

If you're staying for an extended period in KL or Malaysia, consider the prepaid MyRapid (www.myrapid.com.my) card, valid on Rapid KL buses, the monorail and the Ampang and Kelana Jaya LRT lines. It costs RM10 (including RM8 in credit) and can be bought at monorail and LRT stations. Just tap at the ticket gates or when you get on the bus and the correct fare will be deducted. Rapid KL also offers the Rapidpass Flexi Touch 'n Go, valid from one to 30 days (RM10 to RM150).

The Touch 'n Go card (www.touchngo.com.my) can be used on all public transport in the Klang Valley, at highway toll booths across Malaysia and at selected parking sites. The cards, which cost RM10 and can be reloaded with values from RM20 to RM500, can be purchased at KL Sentral and the central LRT stations KLCC, Masjid Jamek and Dang Wangi.

KTM Komuter Trains

KTM Komuter train services run every 15 to 20 minutes from 6am to 11.45pm and use KL Sentral as a hub. There are two lines: Tanjung Malim–Sungai Gadut and Batu Caves–Pelabuhan Klang.

Light Rail Transit

As well as the buses, Rapid KL runs the Light Rail Transit system. There are three lines: Ampang–Sentul Timur, Sri Petaling–Sentul Timur and Kelana Jaya–Terminal Putra. The network is poorly integrated because the lines were constructed by different companies. As a result, you may have to follow a series of walkways, stairs and elevators, or walk several blocks down the street.

Buy single journey tokens or MyRapid cards from the cashier or electronic ticket machines. An electronic control system checks tickets/tokens as you enter and exit via turnstiles (you tap the token on the way in and insert it in the gate on the way out). You can buy an all-day pass for RM7, which also covers you for Rapid KL buses.

KL's New MRT

To give it its full title, the Klang Valley Mass Rapid Transit (KVMRT) project (www.mymrt.com.my) involves the construction of a rail-based public transport network which, together with the existing light rail transit (LRT), monorail, KTM Komuter, KLIA Ekspres and KLIA Transit systems, aims to ease the road traffic congestion that plagues the Greater Kuala Lumpur/Klang Valley region. The ambitious target is to make half of all journeys in the Klang Valley area ones by public transport.

Launched in 2011, the project aims to create three new commuter rail lines, the first of which is the 51km Sungai Buloh–Kajang line; 9.5km of this link will run underground and drilling for the tunnels is causing disruption currently in parts of KL city centre. Phase one, from Sungai Buloh to Semantan, will be operational by 2016. The remaining part of the line to Kajang will be finished the following year.

KL Monorail

The air-conditioned monorail zips from KL Sentral to Titiwangsa, linking up many of the city’s sightseeing areas.