go to content go to search box go to global site navigation

Introducing Alsace

Alsace, which is 190km long and no more than 50km wide, is made up of two rival départements (administrative divisions) : Bas-Rhin (Lower Rhine; www.tourisme67.com), the area around the dynamic regional (and European) capital, Strasbourg; and Haut-Rhin (Upper Rhine; www.tourisme68.com), which covers the region’s more southerly reaches, including the picturesque département capital, Colmar, and the industrial city of Mulhouse. Germany is just across the busy Rhine, whose left bank is Alsatian as far south as the Swiss city of Basel.