Capilla de Santa Cruz

Picos de Europa

This tiny chapel was built in the mid-20th century to replace its 8th-century predecessor (erected by Pelayo's son Favila), which was destroyed during the Spanish Civil War. The 1940s rebuilders discovered that the mound the chapel sits on was an artificial one containing a 5000-year-old megalithic tomb; it's now visible beneath the chapel's floor. Visits are semi-guided in Spanish, English or French; enquire at the tourist office.

Lonely Planet's must-see attractions

Nearby Picos de Europa attractions

1. Puente Romano

0.19 MILES

Arching like a cat in fright, the so-called 'Roman Bridge' spanning the Río Sella was actually built in the 13th century, but is no less beautiful for its…

2. Museo de Covadonga

4.83 MILES

A few steps from Covadonga's basilica is the extensive Museo de Covadonga, devoted to Covadonga's history and extraordinary gifts from the faithful. Among…

3. Basílica de Covadonga

4.92 MILES

Covadonga's original wooden church burnt down in 1777 and landslides destroyed much of the settlement in the 19th century. The main church, the Basílica…

4. Santa Cueva

4.98 MILES

This cave, now with a chapel installed, is where the Virgin supposedly appeared to Pelayo's warriors before their 722 CE victory over the Muslims…

5. Centro de Arte Rupestre Tito Bustillo

7.93 MILES

Some of Spain’s best cave art, including superb horse paintings probably done around 15,000 to 10,000 BCE, lie inside the World Heritage–listed Cueva de…

6. Cueva de Tito Bustillo

8.09 MILES

Some of Spain’s finest cave art, including superb horse paintings probably done around 15,000 to 10,000 BCE, is within this World Heritage–listed cave,…

7. Playa de Vega

8.87 MILES

The broad, 1.5km-long sands of Playa de Vega, 8km west of Ribadesella, are among the least known of northern Spain's finest beaches. There are three or…

8. Museo del Jurásico de Asturias

12.54 MILES

Dotted with Jurassic-era fossils, the Asturian coastline between Gijón and Ribadesella is known as La costa de la los dinosaurios (the Dinosaur Coast)…