Confucius Temple & Imperial College


An incense stick’s toss away from the Lama Temple, China’s second-largest Confucian temple is a haven of scholarly calm and contemplation. Come to wander between the towering stone stelae mounted on the backs of mythical bìxì (mythical, tortoise-like dragons) and inscribed with the achievements of scholars past. For centuries, China's sharpest minds would sit for imperial examinations on the Confucian classics at the connecting Guozijian, which was replaced by the Imperial University of Peking (what would become Peking University) in 1898.

At the rear of the Confucius Temple are the Qianlong Stone Scriptures, a stone 'forest' of 190 stelae recording the 13 Confucian classics in 630,000 Chinese characters. Next to the Confucius Temple, but within the same grounds, stands the Imperial College, where the emperor expounded the Confucian classics to an audience of thousands of kneeling students, professors and court officials – an annual rite. Built by the grandson of Kublai Khan in 1306, the former college was the supreme academy during the Yuan, Ming and Qing dynasties. The Biyong Hall (辟雍大殿, Pìyōng Dàdiàn) is a twin-roofed structure with yellow (royal) tiles surrounded by a moat and topped with a splendid gold knob. Inside the stupendous interior is a vermilion-and-gold lectern. The side pavilions feature several interesting museums on Confucianism, detailing the life of the Great Sage (551–479 BC) and the academy itself.

Some of Beijing’s last remaining páilóu (decorative archways) survive on the street outside (Guozijian Jie).

Lonely Planet's must-see attractions

Nearby Beijing attractions

1. Lama Temple

0.21 MILES

Converted from a princely residence to a lamasery in the 18th century, the Lama Temple extends through a crescendo of ever more divine halls in a whirl of…

2. Ditan Park

0.51 MILES

Beijing is surrounded by four heavenly altars, or tán, and Ditan (Altar of the Earth), situated in the north within grounds that are today a public park,…

3. Overseas Chinese History Museum

0.63 MILES

Charting the history of Chinese emigration from the era of the Silk Road to the present day, this is a terrific museum with full English captions…

4. Mao Dun's Former Residence

0.67 MILES

This largely renovated residence was the home of Mao Dun, the pen name of Shen Yanbing (1896–1981), a well-known author. He lived at the back courtyard…

5. Duan Qirui Former Government Building

0.83 MILES

This imposing slab of Republic-era architecture, complete with brick clock tower, is the former headquarters and residence of Duan Qirui, a warlord who…

6. Nanluogu Xiang

0.98 MILES

Beijing's most touristy hutong, Nanluogu Xiang is a north–south strip of snack stalls, small food courts, souvenir shops and more people than you can…

7. Qi Baishi's Former Residence

0.99 MILES

Known for the whimsical, often playful style of his watercolours, Qi Baishi (1864–1957) was an influential Chinese painter who lived in Beijing from 1917…

8. Bell Tower

0.99 MILES

The restrained, grey-stone edifice of the Bell Tower (Zhonglou) is arguably even more charming than its resplendent other half, the Drum Tower (Gulou),…