The city’s fascinating synagogue was built around 1620 and served as the Jewish community’s main house of worship until WWII, when it was shuttered by the Germans. The ceilings and design elements in the small main prayer room have been restored to their former opulence. A highlight of the exhibition is a gripping computer presentation on the history of the town’s Jewish community and its eventual destruction by the Germans. Special exhibitions highlight Jewish life in Zamość.

The booklet on sale about Zamość's Jewish culture through the years is a bargain at 7zł.

Lonely Planet's must-see attractions

Nearby Małopolska attractions

1. Museum of Zamość

0.06 MILES

Two of the row of iconic and colourful Armenian houses on the northeast side of the Rynek shelter the Zamość museum, with intriguing displays such as a…

2. Town Hall

0.08 MILES

The town hall was built between 1639 and 1651, and features were added and extended over the years: its curving stairway came in 1768. Zamoyski didn’t…

3. Rynek Wielki

0.09 MILES

The Great Market Sq is the heart of Zamość's attractive Old Town. This impressive Italianate Renaissance square (exactly 100m by 100m) is dominated by the…

4. Academy Zamoyski


The academy was founded in 1595 by Jan Zamoyski as the third Polish centre of higher education at the time – after universities in Kraków and Vilnius. For…

5. Franciscan Church

0.14 MILES

Built between 1637 and 1655, this church was reputedly one of the most beautiful baroque churches in Poland. In 1784, the Austrian Empire abolished the…

6. Bastion VII

0.14 MILES

On the eastern edge of the Old Town is the best surviving bastion from the original city walls. You can take a group walking tour (English text is…

7. Bell Tower

0.18 MILES

You can climb this free-standing bell tower by the cathedral, though the terrace is not high enough to offer a bird’s-eye view of the Old Town. The…

8. Old Lublin Gate

0.18 MILES

This former gate into the Old Town is a partly ruined brick structure. After its construction in 1588 it was walled up in 1604 to commemorate a victorious…