Old Parliament House

Colonial District, the Quays & Marina Bay

Built in 1826, the Old Parliament House is Singapore's oldest government building. Originally a private mansion, it became a courthouse, then the Assembly House of the colonial government and, finally, the Parliament House for independent Singapore. Its current incarnation as the Arts House once again sees the building play an important role in Singapore's history, this time in the arts and creative scenes. Head to the 2nd level to discover and wander through rooms where history was lived and made.

Visit the website for program details.

Lonely Planet's must-see attractions

Nearby Colonial District, the Quays & Marina Bay attractions

1. Victoria Theatre & Concert Hall

0.05 MILES

Completed in 1862, the Victoria Theatre was one of Singapore's first Victorian Revivalist buildings, inspired by the Italian Renaissance. It reopened in…

2. Parliament House

0.07 MILES

Often referred to as 'new Parliament', the building is situated behind the Old Parliament House. It was opened in 1999 and proceedings are open to the…

3. Raffles Landing

0.07 MILES

This spot, between the Asian Civilisation Museum and Old Parliament House, marks the place where Sir Stamford Raffles landed in Singapore on 29 January…

4. Asian Civilisations Museum

0.11 MILES

This remarkable museum houses the region's most comprehensive collection of pan-Asian treasures. Its galleries explore the history, cultures, textiles and…

5. New Supreme Court

0.12 MILES

Singapore's New Supreme Court is a sci-fi statement co-designed by Sir Norman Foster's firm Foster + Partners.

6. National Gallery Singapore

0.12 MILES

Connected by a striking aluminium and glass canopy, Singapore's historic City Hall and Old Supreme Court buildings now form the city's breathtaking…

7. Lim Bo Seng Memorial

0.14 MILES

This 3.6m-high pagoda was built in tribute to Major-General Lim Bo Seng, a Singaporean WWII hero.

8. City Hall

0.14 MILES

It was here that Lord Louis Mountbatten announced the Japanese surrender in 1945 and that Lee Kuan Yew declared Singapore's independence in 1965. Today,…