Palazzo Farnese

Centro Storico

Home to the French embassy, this towering Renaissance palazzo, one of Rome's finest, was started in 1514 by Antonio da Sangallo the Younger, continued by Michelangelo and finished by Giacomo della Porta. Inside, it boasts frescoes by Annibale and Agostino Carracci that are said by some to rival Michelangelo's in the Sistine Chapel. The highlight, painted between 1597 and 1608, is the monumental ceiling fresco Amori degli Dei (The Loves of the Gods) in the Galleria dei Carracci.

Visits to the palazzo are by 45-minute guided tour (in English, French and Italian), for which you'll need to book at least a week in advance – see the website for details. Photo ID is required for entry and children under 10 are not admitted.

The twin fountains in the square outside are enormous granite baths taken from the Terme di Caracalla.

Lonely Planet's must-see attractions

Nearby Centro Storico attractions

1. Arco Farnese

0.07 MILES

An overhead arch spanning Via Giulia, the Arco Farnese was designed by Michelangelo as part of an unfinished project to connect Palazzo Farnese with Villa…

2. Palazzo Spada

0.07 MILES

With its stuccoed ornamental facade and handsome courtyard, this grand palazzo is a fine example of 16th-century mannerist architecture. Upstairs, a small…

3. Fontana del Mascherone

0.08 MILES

At the southern end of Via Giulia, the Fontana del Mascherone is a 17th-century fountain showing what looks like a gormless hippy surprised by water…

4. Campo de' Fiori

0.08 MILES

Il Campo is a major focus of Roman life: by day it hosts one of the city's best-known markets; by night, people come for its lively bars and restaurants.

5. Arco degli Acetari

0.09 MILES

For one of Rome’s most picture-perfect scenes, head to this dark archway just off Campo de’ Fiori. The arch in itself isn’t especially memorable...

6. Dorothy Circus Gallery

0.11 MILES

A stark contrast to the ancient and stoic city around it, Dorothy Circus Gallery is devoted entirely to pop surrealism, a punchy art movement that draws…

7. Palazzo della Cancelleria

0.12 MILES

One of Rome's most imposing Renaissance buildings, this huge palazzo was built for Cardinal Raffaele Riario between 1483 and 1513. It was later acquired…

8. Basilica di San Lorenzo in Damaso

0.14 MILES

This echoing 4th-century basilica, incorporated into Palazzo della Cancelleria, is one of Rome’s oldest churches. Much altered over the centuries – both…