Megali Ammos beach and port in Chora, Pano Koufonisi; Shutterstock ID 518663467; Your name (First / Last): Brana V; GL account no.: 65050; Netsuite department name: Online Editorial; Full Product or Project name including edition: Small Cyclades BiE 2018

Shutterstock / Mila Atkovska

Small Cyclades

The six tiny islands that lie between Naxos and Amorgos have gone through millennia of civilisation and upheaval, from being densely populated trading centres in the days of antiquity and then fortified Venetian outposts to pirate havens and impoverished fishing backwaters during WWII before recently remerging in the spotlight as increasingly fashionable getaways. Today, only four have permanent populations – Iraklia, Schinousa, Ano Koufonisi (Koufonisia) and Donousa – and they remain very distinct from one another in character and topography, with Koufonisia in particular welcoming sun-worshippers, Schinousa and rugged Donousa appealing to hikers, and Iraklia famous for its cave pilgrimage.


Must-see attractions

Plan with a local


Latest stories from Small Cyclades

Filter by interest:

Unspoilt waters of Koufonisia island, Small Cyclades © Aetherial / iStock / Getty Images


Exploring the Small Cyclades

Feb 29, 2016 • 6 min read


Purchase our award-winning guidebooks

Get to the heart of Small Cyclades with one of our in-depth, award-winning guidebooks, covering maps, itineraries, and expert guidance.