Temple of Mystery


Lashed by electronic music from the shops alongside, the Taoist Temple of Mystery stands in what was once Suzhou’s old bazaar, a rowdy entertainment district with travelling performers, acrobats and actors. The temple dates from 1181 and is one of the few surviving examples of Song architecture in Suzhou.

The huge Sānqīng Diàn (三清殿; Three Purities Hall) was closed for construction at the time of research but the side halls to Guanyin and the gods of wealth, longevity and literature were still open. In front of Sānqīng Diàn, look out for the one-horned ox (独角神牛; dújiǎo shénníu) that conveyed Laozi on his travels to the West.

Lonely Planet's must-see attractions

Nearby Suzhou attractions

1. Garden of Harmony


One of the lesser-visited gardens around Suzhou is the charmingly small Qing-dynasty Garden of Harmony, which has assimilated many features of older…

2. Former Residence of Yu Yue

0.48 MILES

In an interesting old residential area of Sūzhōu, this quiet, unpretentious historic house has a lovely classical Chinese garden. It belonged to Yu Yue …

3. Sūzhōu Park

0.52 MILES

Small but charming public park in Sūzhōu's downtown area. Popular amongst local retirees, this is a great place to experience China's outdoor group…

4. Pingjiang Lu

0.53 MILES

On the eastern side of the city, this canalside road has whitewashed local houses sitting comfortably side by side with teahouses and trendy cafes selling…

5. Twin Pagodas

0.57 MILES

Beautifully enhanced by flowering magnolias in spring, this delightful courtyard and former temple contains a pair of sublime pagodas, which don't often…

6. Lion Grove Garden

0.58 MILES

Constructed in 1342 by the Buddhist monk Tianru to commemorate his master, who lived on Lion Cliff on Zhejiang’s Tianmu Mountain, this garden's curiously…

7. Suzhou Fan Museum

0.59 MILES

The antique fans on display here demonstrate the skillful painting and embroidery of the art form. Many of the silk fans feature a cat motif; rat-catching…

8. Kunqu Opera Museum


Down a narrow lane, this small museum is dedicated to kūnqǔ, the opera style of the region. The beautiful old theatre houses a stage, musical instruments,…