Pitaka Taik


Following the sacking of Thaton, King Anawrahta is said to have carted off some 30 elephant-loads of Buddhist scriptures in 1058 and built this library (just northeast of Shwegugyi) to house them. The square design follows the basic early Bagan gu (cave temple) plan, perfect for the preservation of light-sensitive palm-leaf scriptures. It’s notable for the perforated stone windows, each carved from single stone slabs, and the plaster carvings on the roof, which imitate Myanmar woodcarvings.

Lonely Planet's must-see attractions

Nearby Bagan attractions

1. Tharabar Gate


Do stop on the eastern side of this former entrance to the original palace site. The gate is the best-preserved remains of the 9th-century wall and the…

2. Shwegugyi

0.13 MILES

Built by Alaungsithu in 1131, this smaller but elegant pahto (temple), 650ft north of Thatbyinnyu, is an example of Bagan’s middle period of temple…

3. Thatbyinnyu Pahto

0.16 MILES

Named for ‘omniscience’, Bagan’s highest temple is built of two boxy white-coloured storeys, each with three diminishing terraces rimmed with spires and…

4. Palace Site

0.16 MILES

There's very little left of Bagan's original palace complex. Just a few bits of wall protruding out of the ground and a few lumps and bumps indicating…

5. Bagan Golden Palace

0.18 MILES

Following similar government-mandated palace reconstruction jobs in Bago, Mandalay and Shwebo, this towering concrete-and-steel-reinforced edifice was…

6. Mahabodhi Paya

0.25 MILES

Unlike any other Bagan temple, this monument, located on the north side of the main road 1000ft west of the gate, is modelled after the famous Mahabodhi…

7. Nathlaung Kyaung

0.25 MILES

Between Pahtothamya and Thatbyinnyu, this stubby building – the only Hindu temple remaining in Bagan – has a fascinating history. Named ‘Shrine Confining…

8. Ananda Ok Kyaung


Just west of Ananda, this small vihara (sanctuary or chapel), built in 1137, features some detailed 18th-century murals bursting with bright red and green…