Road leading to Darwin and Goose Green.

Michael Heffernan

Falkland Islands (Islas Malvinas)

The Falkland Islands are a popular addition to many Antarctic voyages, but they’re well worth seeing on their own for their spectacular penguin, seal and albatross populations. Surrounded by the South Atlantic, the islands lie 490km east of Patagonia. Two main islands, East Falkland and West Falkland, and more than 700 smaller ones cover 12,173 sq km. Alternately settled and claimed by France, Spain, Britain and Argentina, the Falklands (known as the Islas Malvinas in Argentina) have been an overseas territory of the UK since 1833, a status the Argentines have fought and still contest.


Must-see attractions


Latest stories from Falkland Islands (Islas Malvinas)

Filter by interest:

Wildlife & Nature

An essential guide to the Falkland Islands

Apr 24, 2018 • 6 min read


Purchase our award-winning guidebooks

Get to the heart of Falkland Islands (Islas Malvinas) with one of our in-depth, award-winning guidebooks, covering maps, itineraries, and expert guidance.