Yorke Peninsula

Narungga country since time immemorial, the boot-shaped Yorke Peninsula has since become a firm favourite with holidaying Adelaideans – it's just under two hours northwest of the city.

For history buffs, the northwestern end of 'Yorkes' has a trio of towns called the Copper Triangle: Moonta (the mine), Wallaroo (the smelter) and Kadina (the service town). Settled by Cornish miners, this area drove the regional economy following a copper boom in the early 1860s, and this is still the peninsula's commercial heartland.

In the big-sky peninsula country to the east and south, things are much more agricultural and laid-back, with sleepy holiday towns, isolated Innes National Park, remote surf breaks, ospreys, kangaroos and an empty coastline.