Bab El Bhar


Also called the Porte de France or French Gate, this huge freestanding arch was the medina's eastern gateway until the surrounding walls were demolished by the French to create Pl de la Victoire. It now marks the main entrance into the medina from Centre Ville. Note Rue des Glaciéres, leading off to the north – its name references the fact that huge blocks of Alpine ice for sale were stored here in the 18th and 19th centuries.

Lonely Planet's must-see attractions

Nearby Tunis attractions

1. Marché Centrale

0.16 MILES

Tunisian food markets offer a great introduction to local culture, and Tunis' Marché Centrale is particularly atmospheric. The original market building…

3. Medina

0.23 MILES

This sprawling maze of ancient streets and alleyways is one of the most impressive medieval medinas in North Africa and one of Tunisia's great treasures…

4. Madrasa Palmier

0.25 MILES

Named after the palm tree in the courtyard, this Ottoman Quranic school was constructed in 1714 on the site of a funduq (caravanserai or travellers’ inn)…

5. Madrasa El Bachia

0.25 MILES

This former madrassa (school for study of the Quran) near the Hammam El Kachachine was built in 1752 and has a small, non-functioning public fountain…

6. Madrasa Slimania

0.26 MILES

Ali Pasha, ruler of Tunisia from 1735 to 1756, commissioned this religious building as a memorial to his murdered son Suleiman. Entered from the street…

7. Zitouna Mosque

0.26 MILES

Located in the heart of Tunis' medina, this important mosque was founded in 734 and built on a site once occupied by a church. It was totally rebuilt in…

8. Dar Othman

0.26 MILES

This building was constructed for Othman Dey in the late 16th century. His business – piracy – was obviously lucrative, and he also happened to be…