St Mary’s Church

North of the Liffey

Designed by William Robinson in 1697, this is the most important church to survive from that period (although it’s no longer in use and is closed to the public). John Wesley, founder of Methodism, delivered his first Irish sermon here in 1747 and it was the preferred church of Dublin’s 18th-century social elite. Many famous Dubliners were baptised in its font, and Arthur Guinness was married here in 1793.

Lonely Planet's must-see attractions

Nearby North of the Liffey attractions

1. National Leprechaun Museum

0.07 MILES

Ostensibly designed as a child-friendly museum of Irish folklore, this is really a romper room for kids sprinkled with bits of fairy tale. Which is no bad…

2. St Mary’s Abbey

0.13 MILES

Where now the glories of Babylon? All that remains of what was once Ireland’s wealthiest and most powerful monastery is the chapter house, so forgotten…

3. Ha'penny Bridge

0.23 MILES

Dublin's most famous bridge is the Ha'penny Bridge, built in 1816. One of the world's oldest cast-iron bridges, it was built to replace the seven ferries…

4. Sunlight Chambers

0.24 MILES

On the southern banks of the Liffey, Sunlight Chambers, designed by Liverpool architect Edward Ould (designer of Port Sunlight in the Wirral, in England),…

5. Temple Bar Gallery & Studios

0.24 MILES

This multistorey gallery showcases the works of dozens of up-and-coming Irish artists at any one time, and is a great spot to see cutting-edge Irish art…

6. GPO Witness History

0.25 MILES

Inside the General Post Office is this wonderful museum that also serves as a fitting tribute to the 1916 Easter Rising and its key role in the creation…

7. National Photographic Archive

0.25 MILES

The archive of photographs taken from the mid-19th century onwards are part of the collection of the National Library, and so are open by appointment and…

8. General Post Office

0.27 MILES

It's not just the country's main post office, or an eye-catching neoclassical building: the General Post Office is at the heart of Ireland's struggle for…