With origins dating back to the early 14th century, the Zeughaus is one of Ulm's most impressive historical buildings. It underwent significant expansion in the 16th and 17th centuries – note the Renaissance and baroque motifs embellishing the portals – and was damaged during WWII. Only a few of the original arsenal's weapons remain as most were seized during the Napoleonic Wars. Out front is the Einstein Fountain, dedicated to Ulm's brainiest son.

Lonely Planet's must-see attractions

Nearby Ulm attractions

1. Einstein Fountain & Monument

0.02 MILES

A nod to Ulm’s most famous son, this fiendishly funny bronze fountain by Jürgen Goertz shows a wild-haired, tongue-poking-out Albert Einstein, who was…

2. Albrecht Berblinger Plaque

0.27 MILES

This bronze plaque marks where Albrecht Berblinger, a tailor who invented a flying machine, attempted to fly over the Danube in 1811. The so-called …

3. Kunsthalle Weishaupt


The glass-fronted Kunsthalle Weishaupt contains the private collection of Siegfried Weishaupt, which is presented in rotating exhibitions. The accent is…

4. Museum Ulm

0.43 MILES

This museum is a fascinating romp through ancient and modern art, history and archaeology. Standouts include the 20th-century Kurt Fried Collection,…

5. Fischkastenbrunnen

0.45 MILES

In the Marktplatz is the Fischkastenbrunnen, a fountain where fishmongers kept their river fish alive on market days.

6. Ulmer Münster

0.46 MILES

'Ooh, it’s so big'… First-time visitors gush as they strain their neck muscles gazing up to the Münster. It is. And rather beautiful. Celebrated for its…

7. Rathaus

0.46 MILES

The 14th-century Rathaus has an ornately painted Renaissance facade and a gilded astrological clock (1520); bells count off every quarter-hour. Inside you…

8. Marktplatz

0.47 MILES

Lording it over the Marktplatz, the 14th-century Rathaus sports a step-gabled, lavishly frescoed Renaissance facade. Out front is the Fischkastenbrunnen,…