The Strahov Monastery in Prague. The monastery takes its name from the Czech word strahovni which means, 'watching over'. King Vladislav II founded the monastery in 1140.

Strahov Monastery


In 1140 Vladislav II founded Strahov Monastery for the Premonstratensian order. The present monastery buildings, completed in the 17th and 18th centuries, functioned until the communist government closed them down and imprisoned most of the monks; they returned in 1990. The main attraction here is the magnificent Strahov Library.

Inside the main gate is the 1612 Church of St Roch (kostel sv Rocha), which is now an art gallery, and the Church of the Assumption of Our Lady (kostel Nanebevzetí Panny Marie), built in 1143 and heavily decorated in the 18th century in the baroque style; Mozart is said to have played the organ here.

Lonely Planet's must-see attractions

Nearby Prague attractions

1. Strahov Picture Gallery

0.03 MILES

In Strahov Monastery’s second courtyard is the Strahov Picture Gallery, with a valuable collection of Gothic, baroque, rococo and romantic art on the 1st…

2. Strahov Library

0.04 MILES

Strahov Library is the largest monastic library in the country, with two magnificent baroque halls dating from the 17th and 18th centuries. You can peek…

3. Miniature Museum

0.08 MILES

Siberian technician Anatoly Konyenko once manufactured tools for microsurgery, but in his spare time he spent 7½ years crafting a pair of golden…

4. Černín Palace

0.19 MILES

The late-17th-century early-baroque palace opposite the Loreta boasts Prague’s largest monumental facade. This imposing building has housed the foreign…

5. Loreta

0.24 MILES

The Loreta is a baroque place of pilgrimage founded by Benigna Kateřina Lobkowicz in 1626, designed as a replica of the supposed Santa Casa (Sacred House;…

6. Petřín Lookout Tower

0.28 MILES

The summit of Petřín is topped with this 62m-tall tower built in 1891 by the Czech Hikers Club after members visited Paris and became overly inspired. It…

7. Nový Svět Quarter

0.34 MILES

In the 16th century, houses were built for castle staff in an enclave of curving cobblestone streets down the slope north of the Loreta. Today these…

8. Mirror Maze

0.35 MILES

Below the Petřín Lookout Tower is the Mirror Maze, built for the 1891 Prague Exposition. As well as the maze of distorting mirrors, which was based on the…