Welcome to The Yungas

The Yungas is composed of two provinces in La Paz department – Nor and Sud Yungas (oddly, most of Sud Yungas lies well to the north of Nor Yungas) – as well as parts of other provinces. Coroico and Chulumani are the main population centers. Most people here claim Aymará descent but there is also a noticeable Afro-Bolivian population. Visitors often find locals to be more friendly here than in the colder altiplano (must be the heat).

Top experiences in The Yungas

Recent articles

Travel guides

Starting at $27.99

Image for

The Yungas in detail