A list of 59 countries that English holidaymakers will be free to travel to without facing a 14-day quarantine upon their return has been published.

A plane landing at an airport at sunset
English holidaymakers will be free to travel to 59 countries without quarantining on return © Alain M. Duzant/500px

Transport secretary, Grant Shapps, has published the list of "travel corridor" countries, which comes as restrictions lift in the wake of the COVID-19 pandemic. As a result of the virus, travellers from England were forbidden to take non-essential travel trips anywhere overseas since March 17. They may now travel to countries on the approved list for purposes other than non-essential travel from July 4 and will not have to self-isolate when they arrive back in England from July 10. However, it's important to bear in mind that each country on the list will not automatically welcome the English holidaymaker on arrival without the need for them to go into quarantine there.

Woman photographing Marine Iguanas at Espinoza Point
Travellers from England were forbidden to take non-essential travel trips overseas since March 17 © Maridav/Shutterstock

The countries are: Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Aruba, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Barbados, Belgium, Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba Croatia, Curaçao, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominica, Faroe Islands, Fiji, Finland, France, French Polynesia, Germany, Greece, Greenland, Grenada, Guadeloupe, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macau, Malta, Mauritius, Monaco, The Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Réunion, San Marino, Serbia, Seychelles, South Korea, Spain, St Barthélemy, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Pierre and Miquelon, Switzerland, Taiwan, Trinidad and Tobago, Turkey, Vatican City and Vietnam.

Young man kayaking on yellow boat
English holidaymakers can plan trips again © ukayacan/Getty Images

Ireland is already exempt from the quarantine requirement as part of the common travel area, as are the Channel Islands and Isle of Man. In addition, the 14 British Overseas Territories are exempt. Travellers who have been to or stopped in a country that’s not on the travel corridor list will have to self-isolate until 14 days have passed since they left that country. The list only applies to England, as the devolved administrations will set out their own approach to exemptions, and so passengers returning to Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland should ensure they follow the laws and guidance that applies there.

Lockdowns are easing globally as the planet adjusts to a new normal. Find out how COVID-19 is changing travel.

You might also like:

How to prepare for your first post-COVID trip
Some countries want us to visit - but are we ready to travel?

Explore related stories


Where to go in 2024: when to visit our Best in Travel winners

Oct 25, 2023 • 19 min read