Grand-Rue’s most attractive section is around Place Victor Abens, where the town hall straddles a small spring. The Église des Trinitaires church was built in 1248 and reconstructed after a fire in 1498; behind it the pretty cloister that was once the heart of the monastery remains.

Both the stairway between Grand-Rue 58/60 (opposite the church) and the alley Montée du Beffroi (just west of Musée de la Ville de Vianden) take you towards an isolated 1603 belfry on a ridge outcrop. It’s closed to visitors, but there are beautiful views over the town and river.

Lonely Planet's must-see attractions

Nearby Luxembourg attractions

2. Musée Littéraire Victor Hugo

0.14 MILES

Across a stone bridge from Grand-Rue is a replica Rodin bust of French writer Victor Hugo. In 1871 Hugo stayed for three months in the house facing this…

3. Château de Vianden

0.18 MILES

This château's extraordinary outline is the result of an almost-total 20th-century restoration after the original, built from the 11th to 14th centuries,…

4. Musée National d'Histoire Militaire

4.77 MILES

Set in a former brewery in the town centre, Luxembourg's national military history museum is packed full of WWII equipment, vehicles and memorabilia…

5. Musée d'Histoire(s) Diekirch

4.86 MILES

In the pedestrian zone, the Diekirch's city museum's five rooms are each dedicated to a theme, from prehistory to modern times. Highlights include a Roman…

7. Château de Bourscheid

5.94 MILES

This splendid castle ruin is Luxembourg's largest and most dramatic. Occupying the site of a former Roman watchtower, its construction began around 1000…

8. General Patton Museum

7.36 MILES

In an unlikely residential street, the General Patton Museum spans 600 sq metres. Rooms cover aviation (where displays include fallen chunks of WWII…