Three Brothers

Old Rīga

Tallinn has its Three Sisters, so Rīga has dubbed three of its old stone houses the Three Brothers. These architectural gems conveniently line up in a photogenic row and exemplify Old Rīga’s diverse collection of architectural styles. No 17 is over 600 years old, making it the oldest dwelling in town. Note the tiny windows on the upper levels – Rīga’s property taxes during the Middle Ages were based on window size.

The 17th-century No 19 houses the Latvian Museum of Architecture, which offers temporary exhibitions about the capital's extraordinary buildings and shows decorations from lost Old Town buildings in the hidden courtyard.

Lonely Planet's must-see attractions

Nearby Old Rīga attractions

1. St James' Cathedral

0.04 MILES

Built in 1225, this church has ping-ponged many times between Catholic and Protestant, and has been home to many languages and communities, including…

2. Art Museum Rīga Bourse

0.05 MILES

Rīga’s lavishly restored 1852 stock exchange building is a worthy showcase for the city's art treasures. The elaborate facade features a coterie of…

3. Arsenāls Exhibition Hall

0.08 MILES

Behind a row of granite heads depicting Latvia's most prominent artists, the imperial arsenal, constructed in 1832 to store weapons for the Russian tsar's…

4. Rīga Cathedral

0.09 MILES

Founded in 1211 as the seat of the Rīga diocese, this enormous (once Catholic, now Evangelical Lutheran) cathedral is the largest medieval church in the…

5. Swedish Gate


Built into the city’s medieval walls in 1698 while the Swedes were in power, this arched gate is the only one left in Old Rīga. Set in the largest…

7. Rīga History & Navigation Museum

0.13 MILES

Founded in 1773 and situated in the old Rīga Cathedral monastery, this engaging museum presents the sweep of local history, from the Bronze Age all the…

8. Museum of the Barricades of 1991

0.13 MILES

Latvia's independence came after enormous struggles. One of the most remarkable stories involves the barricades built by thousands of citizens around…