Overview of sheltered Goat Island beach, Ardoginna.

Pete Seaward

Counties Wexford, Waterford, Carlow & Kilkenny

Counties Wexford, Waterford, Carlow and Kilkenny are (along with the southern chunk of Tipperary) referred to collectively as the 'sunny southeast'. This being Ireland the term is, of course, relative. But it is the country's warmest, driest region. A tiara of golden-sand beaches adorns the counties of Wexford and Waterford, and there are plenty more eye-catching gems, including picturesque thatched cottages, elegant seaside towns and dramatic windswept peninsulas. If you're looking for real sparkle, check out the world-acclaimed Waterford crystal. Deeper inland, the verdant valley of the River Barrow separates the riverside villages and arts and crafts studios of County Kilkenny from the country houses and flower-filled gardens of County Carlow. Kilkenny city is the urban star with its imposing castle, cathedral, medieval lanes and cracking pubs and restaurants. And thanks to that 'sunny southeast' climate, these four counties offer some of Ireland's best outdoor pursuits.


Must-see attractions for your itinerary


Latest stories from Counties Wexford, Waterford, Carlow & Kilkenny

Filter by interest:

Kilkenny on the River Nore, Ireland


The perfect Kilkenny mini-break – two days in Ireland’s Medieval City

Dec 18, 2018 • 6 min read


Purchase our award-winning guidebooks

Get to the heart of Counties Wexford, Waterford, Carlow & Kilkenny with one of our in-depth, award-winning guidebooks, covering maps, itineraries, and expert guidance.

Go Beyond

Counties Wexford, Waterford, Carlow & Kilkenny and beyond