Royal Palace

Palace in Visegrád

Just inland from the river, the Royal Palace boasted 350 rooms during the 16th-century reign of King Matthias. Today the palace is a mere shadow of its former self and has been only partly reconstructed. The handful of rooms that can be visited are mostly the royal suites centred on the Court of Honour and its Hercules Fountain, a replica of the original Renaissance piece. Take a peek at ancient ceramics, weaponry and household items in the small museum.

Moving from room to room, you’ll discover more reconstructions and replicas: a cold and clammy royal bedchamber from the 1400s, a warmer kitchen, beautiful tile stoves, and, in the courtyard to the east, the Lion Fountain in red marble. Also of note is the petite St George’s Chapel (1366), but once again, it’s not original.

To find the palace from the Mahart ferry, walk south in the direction of the Nagymaros ferry about 400m, then turn left towards town to find Fő utca.

Advertisement