Église St-Sulpice

St-Germain & Les Invalides

In 1646 work started on the twin-towered Church of St Sulpicius, lined inside with 21 side chapels, and it took six architects 150 years to finish. It's famed for its striking Italianate façade with two rows of superimposed columns, its Counter Reformation–influenced neoclassical decor, its frescoes by Eugène Delacroix – and its setting for a murderous scene in Dan Brown’s The Da Vinci Code. You can hear the monumental, 1781-built organ during 10.30am Mass on Sunday or the occasional Sunday-afternoon concert.

The frescoes in the Chapelle des Sts-Anges (Chapel of the Holy Angels), first to the right as you enter the chapel, depict Jacob wrestling with the angel (to the left) and Michael the Archangel doing battle with Satan (to the right), and were painted by Delacroix between 1855 and 1861. Free guided tours of the church (in English) depart on the 1st Sunday of each month at 12.45pm. To delve into the crypt, sign up in advance for a tour (in French) on the 2nd and 4th Sundays of the month at 3pm.

Lonely Planet's must-see attractions

Nearby St-Germain & Les Invalides attractions

1. Le Bateau Ivre

0.05 MILES

Arthur Rimbaud's 1871 poem Le Bateau Ivre (The Drunken Boat), depicting a fantastical and frightening sea voyage of a sinking boat from the first-person…

2. Musée du Luxembourg

0.16 MILES

This elegant museum plays host to prestigious temporary art exhibitions. Admission prices vary; it's free for under-16s. Online bookings cost €1.50 extra…

3. Orangery

0.18 MILES

Behind the Musée du Luxembourg, within the Jardin du Luxembourg, in the palace’s vintage orangerie (orangery), an elegant building filled with aromatic…

4. Palais du Luxembourg

0.21 MILES

At the northern end of the Jardin du Luxembourg, the Palais du Luxembourg was built in the 1620s for Marie de Médici, Henri IV’s consort, to assuage her…

5. Église St-Germain des Prés

0.22 MILES

Paris’ oldest standing church, the Romanesque St Germanus of the Fields, was built in the 11th century on the site of a 6th-century abbey and was the main…

6. Georges Danton Statue

0.24 MILES

On Carrefour de l’Odéon, a statue of Georges Danton, a leader of the Revolution and later one of its guillotined victims, stands head intact.

7. Musée National Eugène Delacroix

0.25 MILES

In a courtyard off a tree-shaded square, this museum is housed in the romantic artist’s home and studio at the time of his death in 1863. It contains a…

8. Jardin du Luxembourg

0.26 MILES

This famous inner-city oasis of formal terraces, chestnut groves and lush lawns has a special place in Parisians' hearts.