The Church of the Holy Rude has been the town’s parish church for 600 years; the infant King James VI was crowned here in 1567, making it the only British church still in daily use to have witnessed a royal coronation, other than Westminster Abbey. The nave and tower date from 1456, and the church has one of the few surviving medieval open-timber roofs. Stunning stained-glass windows and huge stone pillars create a powerful effect.