Several eastern and southeastern European countries with a majority Orthodox Christian population celebrate Christmas on 7 January, according to the Julian calendar.

A Russian-orthodox Christmas service.
A Russian-Orthodox Christmas service.

The countries include Russia, Ukraine, Belarus, Moldova, Serbia, Montenegro and Macedonia. The day is a public holiday in these countries. Read more:

Explore related stories