(GERMANY OUT) Clown Anemonefish in Sea Anemone, Amphiprion percula, Cenderawasih Bay, West Papua, Indonesia  (Photo by Reinhard Dirscherl/ullstein bild via Getty Images)

ullstein bild via Getty Images

West Papua

The province of West Papua chiefly comprises two large peninsulas – the Vogelkop (also known as Bird’s Head, Kepala Burung and Semdoberai) and the more southerly Bomberai Peninsula – and several hundred offshore islands. The attractions here are primarily natural – above all the world-class diving and gorgeous island scenery of the Raja Ampat Islands. Sorong and Manokwari are well-provided urban bases from which to launch your explorations.


Must-see attractions for your itinerary


Latest stories from West Papua

Filter by interest:

Wildlife & Nature

Raja Ampat: a quick guide to visiting the idyllic Papuan archipelago

May 8, 2017 • 5 min read


Purchase our award-winning guidebooks

Get to the heart of West Papua with one of our in-depth, award-winning guidebooks, covering maps, itineraries, and expert guidance.

Go Beyond

West Papua and beyond