Founded in the 12th century, the Monastery of the Transfiguration of the Saviour was one of Russia’s richest and best-fortified monasteries by the 16th century. The oldest surviving structures, dating from 1516, are the Holy Gate near the main entrance (Главный вход) by the river and the Cathedral of the Transfiguration.

Other buildings house exhibitions on history, ethnography, icons and the Treasures of Yaroslavl Exhibition, featuring works of gold, silver and precious gems.