Donskoy Monastery

© Elena Koromyslova/Shutterstock

Donskoy Monastery


Moscow's youngest monastery, Donskoy was founded in 1591 as the home of the Virgin of the Don icon, now in the Tretyakov Gallery. This icon is credited with the victory in the 1380 battle of Kulikovo; it’s also said that, in 1591, the Tatar Khan Giri retreated without a fight after the icon showered him with burning arrows in a dream.

Most of the monastery, surrounded by a brick wall with 12 towers, was built between 1684 and 1733 under Regent Sofia and Peter the Great. The Virgin of Tikhvin Church over the north gate, built in 1713 and 1714, is one of the last examples of Moscow baroque. In the centre of the grounds is the large brick New Cathedral, built between 1684 and 1693. Just to its south is the smaller Old Cathedral, dating from 1591 to 1593.

When burials in central Moscow were banned after the 1771 plague, the Donskoy Monastery became a graveyard for the nobility, and it is littered with elaborate tombs and chapels.

Donskoy Monastery is a five-minute walk from Shabolovskaya metro. Go south along ul Shabolovka, then take the first street west, 1-y Donskoy proezd.

Lonely Planet's must-see attractions

Nearby Zamoskvorechie attractions

1. Andreyevsky Bridge

0.77 MILES

Also known as Pushkinsky bridge, this pedestrian bridge connects Gorky Park with the Frunzenskaya area on the other side of the river. A former railway…

2. Garage Museum of Contemporary Art


The brainchild of Moscow art fairy Darya Zhukova, Garage is one of the capital's hottest modern-art venues. In 2015, the museum moved to spectacular new…

3. Danilov Monastery

1.06 MILES

The headquarters of the Russian Orthodox Church stands behind white fortress walls. On holy days this place seethes with worshippers murmuring prayers,…

4. Gorky Park

1.18 MILES

Moscow's main city escape isn't your conventional expanse of nature preserved inside an urban jungle. It's not a fun fair either, though it used to be one…

5. Gorky Park Museum

1.21 MILES

The grandiose colonnaded arch that serves as Gorky Park's front entrance now contains a museum, its exhibition largely comprised of old photographs and…

6. Church of St Nicholas in Khamovniki

1.28 MILES

This church, commissioned by the weavers’ guild in 1676, is among the most colourful in Moscow. The ornate green-and-orange-tapestry exterior houses an…

7. Church of St John the Warrior

1.31 MILES

The finest of all Zamoskvorechie’s churches mixes Moscow and European baroque styles, resulting in a melange of shapes and colours. It was commissioned by…

8. Central House of Artists (TsDKh)

1.36 MILES

Sometimes called by its initials, this huge building attached to the New Tretyakov Gallery contains studios and galleries, as well as exhibition space for…