In a reversal of policy, Switzerland will no longer require travelers arriving from countries where the Omicron variant has been identified to quarantine. Instead, the country will introduce a stricter testing requirement for all arriving passengers.

Starting December 4, 2021, Switzerland will require all arriving passengers to present proof of a negative COVID-19 PCR test. Travelers will also need to test again between day 4 and 7 of their visit. 

The announcement came as part of a larger tightening of restrictions in Switzerland by its Federal Council in an effort to ease the pressure on the country's hospitals due to the spread of the Delta variant. 

Read More: What the Omicron variant means for travel worldwide

The change in policy also comes as the international debate over the effectiveness of country-specific restrictions has grown. The World Health Organization and countries targeted by the restrictions have also criticized those restrictions rolling out worldwide as discriminatory.

"The prohibition of travel is not informed by science, nor will it be effective in preventing the spread of this variant," South African Prime Minister Cyril Ramaphosa said on Twitter.

For more information on COVID-19 and travel, check out Lonely Planet's Health Hub.

You may also like:
These countries have imposed travel restrictions due to the Omicron variant
Traveling to the US? Here's how to meet the new one-day testing rule
Germany tightens COVID-19 restrictions for the unvaccinated

Explore related stories

Zwei Frauen wandern auf dem Arvigratweg, im Hintergrund blauer Himmel


Switzerland is ready to open its doors to all visitors in May

Apr 29, 2022 • 2 min read