Black Abbey

Kilkenny City

Founded in 1225 by William Marshal, this Dominican abbey takes its name from the monks' black habits. Much of what survives dates from the 18th and 19th centuries, but remnants of more ancient archways are still evident, and the stained glass is glorious. When services are not being held (check the website for Mass times), you can pick up an information leaflet in exchange for a donation and explore; look for the 13th-century coffins near the entrance.

Lonely Planet's must-see attractions

Nearby Kilkenny City attractions

1. Black Freren Gate

0.07 MILES

This is the only gate from the old Norman city walls still standing, albeit with the help of metal bracing these days. Crumbling sections of the old walls…

2. Rothe House & Garden

0.12 MILES

Dating from 1594, this is Ireland's finest example of a Tudor merchant's house, complete with a restored medieval garden. Built around a series of…

3. Smithwick's Experience

0.14 MILES

Until its closure, Smithwick's was Ireland’s oldest working brewery. John Smithwick founded the business in 1710 on the site of Kilkenny's 13th-century St…

4. St Canice's Cathedral

0.19 MILES

Ireland's second-largest medieval cathedral (after St Patrick's in Dublin) has a long and fascinating history. The first monastery was built here in the…

5. Tholsel

0.22 MILES

Kilkenny's Tholsel (City Hall) was built in 1761 on the spot where Dame Alice Kyteler’s maid Petronella was burned at the stake in 1324 for witchcraft …

6. Medieval Mile Museum

0.26 MILES

Dating from the early 13th century, St Mary's Church has been converted into a fascinating modern museum that charts the history of Kilkenny in medieval…

7. Butler Gallery

0.41 MILES

The Butler Gallery is one of the country’s most important art galleries outside Dublin. Small exhibitions featuring the work of contemporary artists are…

8. Kilkenny Castle

0.42 MILES

Rising above the River Nore, Kilkenny Castle is one of Ireland's most visited heritage sites. Stronghold of the powerful Butler family, it has a history…