Ho Quyen


Wildly overgrown but evocative, Ho Quyen was built in 1830 for the royal pastime of watching elephants and tigers face off in combat. The tigers (and leopards) were usually relieved of their claws and teeth so that the elephants – a symbol of the emperor’s power – triumphed every time. Climb up grassy ramparts and imagine the scene in the old arena – the last fight was held in 1904.

The south-facing section was reserved for the royal family, while diametrically opposite are the tiger cages.

Ho Quyen is about 3km outside Hue in Truong Da village. Follow Ð Bui Thi Xuan west from the train station, then look out for the blue sign near the market that indicates the turn-off on the left. Follow this lane for about 200m to a fork in the road and go right.

Lonely Planet's must-see attractions

Nearby Hue attractions

1. Thien Mu Pagoda

0.71 MILES

Built on a small hill overlooking the Song Huong (Perfume River), 4km southwest of the Citadel, this seven-storey pagoda is an icon of Vietnam and as…

2. Tomb of Tu Duc

1.29 MILES

This tomb (completed in 1867) is the most popular, imposing and impressive of the royal mausoleums, designed by Emperor Tu Duc himself before his death…

3. Tu Hieu Pagoda

1.36 MILES

Nestled in a pine forest, this pagoda was built in 1843 and later co-opted by eunuchs from the Citadel. Today 70 monks reside at Tu Hieu; they welcome…

4. Bao Quoc Pagoda

1.72 MILES

Founded in 1670, this hilltop pagoda is on the southern bank of the Perfume River and has a striking triple-gated entrance reached via a wide staircase…

5. Ho Chi Minh Museum

1.92 MILES

The father of the modern Vietnamese nation spent 10 years in Hue, and you’ll find intriguing photographs of Ho Chi Minh as well as a collection of his…

6. To Mieu Temple Complex

1.96 MILES

Taking up the southwest corner of the Imperial Enclosure, this highly impressive walled complex has been beautifully restored. The imposing three-tiered…

7. Dien Tho Residence

1.97 MILES

The stunning, partially ruined Dien Tho Residence (1804) once comprised the apartments and audience hall of the Queen Mothers of the Nguyen dynasty. The…

8. Five Cannons of Nine Holy Cannons

1.97 MILES

Located just inside the Citadel ramparts, near the gates to either side of the Flag Tower, are the Nine Holy Cannons (1804). These five cannons next to…