Guarding a picturesque bend of the River Eske, Donegal Castle remains an imperious monument to both Irish and English might. Dating to...
Follow this lovely flat trail along the west bank of the River Eske and Donegal Bay. The myriad shade trees have labels as to their type...
Sit by the fire, sip what many believe to be the best pint of Guinness in town and just soak up the atmosphere at this cosy, unassuming...
Replete with tartan carpeting and stone walls, the Market House manages not to feel touristy or old-fashioned. The kitchen tackles surf...
The Diamond · interesting places nearby
Diamond Obelisk information
In the early 17th century, four Franciscan friars, fearing that the arrival of the English meant the end of Celtic culture, chronicled the whole of known Celtic history and mythology. Starting 40 years before the biblical flood through AD 1618, The Annals of the Four Masters is one of the most important sources of early Irish history. The obelisk (1937), in the Diamond, commemorates the work; copies are displayed in the National Library in Dublin.