This gleaming Edwardian pile was the last building (almost) completed by the British before they were evicted; it opened as the Royal College of Science in 1911. When the college vacated in 1989, the then Taoiseach (prime minister) Charles Haughey and his government moved in and spent a fortune refurbishing the complex.

Free 40-minute tours visit the Taoiseach’s office, the Cabinet Room, the ceremonial staircase with a stunning stained-glass window – designed by Evie Hone (1894–1955) for the 1939 New York Trade Fair – and many fine examples of modern Irish arts and crafts. Pick up tickets from 9.30am on the day of the tour at the Clare St entrance of the National Gallery.