Fiskars is a charming factory village with a green river sliding between brick buildings, which now house studios and showrooms for cutting-edge design. Fiskars bruk (ironworks) began in 1649 with a single furnace and went on to make millions of horse ploughs. In 1822 Turku apothecary Johan Jacob Julin bought the factory and the company boomed, producing a huge range of farming and household items, including its iconic orange-handled scissors (since 1967).
Today more than 100 artisans, designers and artists live and/or work here, and craft shops, studios and galleries fill the village's neoclassical buildings. Strolling through the picturesque centre and shopping for Finnish designs are the twin draws here – pick up a free town map from the tourist office, which details Fiskars' historic buildings and the shops contained within.