Welcome to Shimokita Peninsula

There are three main towns on the peninsula: Mutsu (first if arriving by car or train), Wakinosawa (if arriving by ferry) and Ōma, the furthest point north on the Japanese mainland – get here by car or bus. However you arrive, it's a long, slow ride. The region is centred on Osore-zan (恐山; 874m), a barren volcano that is regarded as one of the most sacred places in all of Japan.

Top experiences in Shimokita Peninsula

Travel guides

Starting at $38.99

Image for