Assembly Hall of the Fujian Chinese Congregation
Chinese All-Community Assembly Hall
Founded in 1773, this assembly hall was used by Fujian, Cantonese, Hainan, Chaozhou and Hakka congregations in Hoi An. To the right of...
Eat Hoi An
Lots of really authentic cuisine and the infectious enthusiasm of host Phuoc make this an excellent choice if you really want to explore...
Museum of Trading Ceramics
Occupies a restored wooden house and contains artefacts from all over Asia, with oddities from as far afield as Egypt. While this...
Miss Ly Cafeteria 22
A refined little restaurant run by a Vietnamese–North American team with mellow music and antique wall prints. Dishes include tasty cao...
opposite 35 Ð Tran Phu · interesting places nearby
Assembly Hall of the Fujian Chinese Congregation information
Originally a traditional assembly hall, this structure was later transformed into a temple for the worship of Thien Hau, a deity from Fujian province. The green-tiled triple gateway dates from 1975. The mural on the right-hand wall depicts Thien Hau, her way lit by lantern light as she crosses a stormy sea to rescue a foundering ship. Opposite is a mural of the heads of the six Fujian families who fled from China to Hoi An in the 17th century.
The penultimate chamber contains a statue of Thien Hau. To either side of the entrance stand red-skinned Thuan Phong Nhi and green-skinned Thien Ly Nhan, deities who alert Thien Hau when sailors are in distress.
In the last chamber, the central altar contains seated figures of the heads of the six Fujian families. The smaller figures below them represent their successors as clan leaders. Behind the altar on the right are three fairies and smaller figures representing the 12 ba mu (midwives), each of whom teaches newborns a different skill necessary for the first year of life: smiling, sucking and so forth. Childless couples often come here to pray for offspring and leave fresh fruit as offerings.