Convento del Santo Ecce Homo
- admission US$1
Lonely Planet review for Convento del Santo Ecce Homo
The Convento del Santo Ecce Homo, founded by the Dominican fathers in 1620, is a large stone-and-adobe construction with a lovely courtyard. The floors are paved with stones quarried in the region, so they contain ammonites and fossils, including petrified corn and flowers. There are also fossils in the base of a statue in the chapel.
The chapel boasts a magnificent gilded main retable with a small image of Ecce Homo and the original wooden ceiling. Look out for the drawing of Christ in west cloister - from different angles it appears that the eyes will open and close.
Part of the convent has been turned into an ethnography museum, with displays of agricultural tools and traditional dress worn by the Muisca Indians and the convent members.
The convent is 13km from Villa de Leyva. The morning bus to Santa Sofía will drop you off a 15-minute walk from the convent. A return taxi trip (for up to four people) from Villa de Leyva to El Fósil, El Infiernito and Ecce Homo will cost about around US$20, including waits allowing for visiting the three sights.