Saviour Monastery of St Euthymius
St Nicholas , just east of the cathedral group is one of Suzdal’s own fine small 18th-century churches.
This convent was founded in 1364, originally as a place of exile for the unwanted wives of tsars. Among them was Solomonia Saburova,...
Rural Suzdal is a great place to cleanse body and soul in a Russian banya (hot bath). Beautiful, lakeside bani are available for...
On the grounds of the Intercession Convent, the old refectory is now a rustic restaurant serving hearty Russian fare in an atmospheric...
Lonely Planet review
Founded in the 14th century to protect the town’s northern entrance, Suzdal’s biggest monastery grew mighty in the 16th and 17th centuries after Vasily III, Ivan the Terrible and the noble Pozharsky family funded impressive new stone buildings, and big land and property acquisitions. It was girded with its great brick walls and towers in the 17th century.
Inside, the Annunciation Gate-Church (Благовещенская надвратная церковь) houses an interesting exhibit on Dmitry Pozharsky (1578–1642), leader of the Russian army that drove the Polish invaders from Moscow in 1612.
A tall 16th- to 17th-century cathedral bell tower (Звонница) stands before the seven-domed Cathedral of the Transfiguration of the Saviour (Спасо-Преображенский собор). Every hour on the hour from 11am to 5pm a short concert of chimes is given on the bell tower’s bells. The cathedral was built in the 1590s in 12th- to 13th-century Vladimir-Suzdal style. Inside, restoration has uncovered some bright 1689 frescoes by the school of Gury Nikitin from Kostroma. The tomb of Prince Dmitry Pozharsky is by the cathedral’s east wall.
The 1525 Assumption Refectory Church (Успенская церковь), facing the bell tower, adjoins the old Father Superior’s chambers (Палаты отца-игумена), which house a display of Russian icons and the excellent naïive art exhibition showcasing works by local Soviet-era amateur painters.
The old monastery prison (Монастырская тюрьма), set up in 1764 for religious dissidents, is at the north end of the complex. It now houses a fascinating exhibit on the monastery’s prison history, including displays of some of the better-known prisoners who stayed here. The combined hospital and St Nicholas Church (Больничные кельи и Никольская церковь; 1669) features a rich museum of church gold treasures.