go to content go to search box go to global site navigation

Introducing Parliament & Around

North of Belváros, the district called Lipótváros (Leopold Town) is full of offices, government ministries, 19th-century apartment blocks and grand squares. Its confines are, in effect, Szent István körút to the north, V József Attila utca to the south, the Danube to the west and, to the east, V Bajcsy-Zsilinszky út, the arrow-straight boulevard that stretches from central Deák Ferenc tér to Nyugati tér, where Nyugati train station is located. It’s an easy and fun neighbourhood to explore on foot and its key squares are V Széchenyi István tér (until recently Roosevelt tér) facing the river; V Szabadság tér, with the only Soviet memorial left in the city; and V Kossuth Lajos tér, fronted by Parliament.

Teréz körút carries on from Szent István körút after Nyugati train station, which is on the M3 metro. The neighbourhood on either side of this section of the ring road – district VI – is known as Terézváros (Theresa Town) and was named in honour of Maria Theresa. It extends as far as VI Király utca and the start of VII Erzsébet körút, but in this section we only include everything up to Andrássy út, the long and dramatic boulevard that slices through Terézváros. Places of interest actually on the boulevard can be found in Chapter 22, Erzsébetváros & the Jewish Quarter.