• Euro (€) Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Greece, Republic of Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Portugal, Spain
  • Pound (£; also called 'pound sterling') Britain, Northern Ireland
  • Swiss franc (CHF, also Sfr) Switzerland


390.7 million


  • Greenwich Mean Time/UTC Britain, Ireland, Portugal, Canary Islands (Spain)
  • Central European Time (GMT/UTC plus one hour) Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Spain (except Canary Islands), Switzerland
  • Eastern European Time (GMT/UTC plus two hours) Greece