Unless you're hoisting the spinnaker on a yacht or kicking back on a cruise ship, getting to the South Pacific will mean a long-haul flight, usually via a gateway city such as Auckland, Brisbane, Sydney, LA, Honolulu or Tokyo.


There are no passport restrictions when visiting South Pacific countries – everyone is welcome!


Most South Pacific countries issue short-stay visas on arrival. New Zealanders don’t need a Cook Islands visa.

More Information

As a sweeping generalisation, with a valid passport from most Western countries you can visit most South Pacific countries for up to three months, provided you have an onward or return ticket and sufficient means of support. You'll usually receive a visa or tourist permit at the airport or seaport on arrival – but not always. It’s worth checking with the embassies or consulates of the countries you plan to visit before travelling, as visa requirements can change.