Entering and leaving Scandinavia is very easy and usually achieved with minimal waiting time.

Customs Regulations

From non-EU to EU countries For EU countries (ie Denmark, Sweden, Finland and Estonia), travellers arriving from outside the EU can bring duty-free goods up to the value of €430 without declaration. You can also bring in up to 16L of beer, 4L of wine, 2L of liquors not exceeding 22% vol, or 1L of spirits, 200 cigarettes or 250g of tobacco.

Within the EU If you're coming from another EU country, there is no restriction on the value of purchases for your own use.

Åland islands Arriving on or from the Åland islands (although technically part of the EU), carries the same import restrictions as arriving from a non-EU country.

Other Nordic countries Norway, Iceland and the Faroe Islands have lower limits.


Generally not required for stays of up to 90 days; some nationalities will need a Schengen visa.

Further Information

  • Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden are all part of the Schengen area. A valid passport or EU identity card is required to enter the region.
  • Most Western nationals don’t need a tourist visa for stays of less than three months. Nationals of many other countries, including South Africa, China and India, will require a Schengen visa.
  • A Schengen visa can be obtained by applying to an embassy or consulate of any country in the Schengen area.